Adventures

My little Parisian apartment (for the weekend)

Margaux's apartment

Since moving to London, all I have wanted to do is visit Paris. The place where my mother spun as the ultimate city. My childhood was full of tales of beauty, pastries and fashion found in this city. So when I saw tickets on the Eurostar for £30, I jumped. The weather was cold, the sky often grey, but it was a delightful weekend nonetheless.

Bastille apartment

We stayed in the cutest apartment in the Bastille neighborhood (through Airbnb), only a hop away from Le Marais. It was full of great little boutique shops and cafes. Walking distance to the Canal Saint Martin where you will find lots of places for brunch. On our way to a recommended cafe by the apartment owner (you do need to book for weekend brunch!), we stumbled across a cute street market full of treasures seeking new homes. The shopping in Le Marais was some of the best I have ever seen and couldn’t even make my way down a single block without stopping five times.

Eiffel towerMontemarteOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I highly recommend Margaux’s apartment — beautiful paintings, comfy bed, great light with huge windows, and perfect location with supermarkets on your doorstop and the metro a few minutes away (stop goes direct to Eurostar at Gare du Nord).

Wandering the neighborhoods

The sights were incredible, but the best bit was just wandering around the neighborhoods and imagining myself in all of the gorgeous apartments. If only London had the same architecture and appreciation for light, instead of all our tiny windows. And the shopping, flea markets, baguettes, and yarn stores — all amazing!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope to come back to Paris soon and hopefully with my mom. I wonder if it has changed much.

Standard

Leave a Reply

