Uncategorized

What to do with fresh figs

image

This morning as I cycled to the station, I needed my wool peacoat and I wish I had brought my gloves. Despite the sunshine.

image

At the market on Sunday morning, a teeny tiny little one at the bottom of London Fields in a school yard, I picked up some lovely veggies. Including, yellow and green zucchinis. Not sure what to make with them yet, but the colours will be amazing. Also, good selection of free range meats.

image

On my way out, I passed a fruit stand with fresh figs, which I had been hoping to find! These may be the last figs of the season. I planned on making them into preserves to enjoy all winter.

image

I now have a jar of fig and apple preserves along with my many jars of blackberry jam to see me through the quickly approaching cold dark days. Every time I open a jar, it will remind me of summer in Hackney’s beautiful parks.

Fig and apple preserves

1 lb fresh figs, quartered (approx six figs)
1 green apple, diced
8 oz sugar
1 lemon
cinnamon stick (optional)

Put the fresh figs and apple in a large saucepan with 100ml water and soften (probably 20-30 mins) over low-med heat. If you are using the cinnamon stick, add it too. After the fruit have softened, add the sugar. Boil for 20-30 minutes until syrupy. Add the lemon juice when it is starting to look syrupy and boil for a further two minutes, which should thicken it further. You can test the consistency by quickly cooling a bit on a plate in the freezer. Then add to medium size jar (sterilised) and seal straight away.

I used cinnamon, but think it would be better without. Also, could add another apple and use less sugar.

Standard

4 thoughts on “What to do with fresh figs

  1. Emily says:

    Such a brilliant idea! I saw some figs for sale in our corner shop and had precisely the same thought (what to do with these…) but hadn’t thought about making a preserve.

    Have you got a recipe or is that a trade secret?

    • I combined a bunch of recipes to this:

      1 lb fresh figs, quartered (approx six figs)
      1 green apple, diced
      8 oz sugar
      1 lemon
      cinnamon stick (optional)

      Put the fresh figs and apple in a large saucepan with 100ml water and soften (probably 20-30 mins) over low-med heat. If you are using the cinnamon stick, add it too. After the fruit have softened, add the sugar. Boil for 20-30 minutes until syrupy. You can test the consistency by quickly cooling a bit on a plate in the freezer. Then add to medium size jar (sterilised) and seal straight away.

      Good luck!! I used cinnamon, but think it would be better without. Also, could add another apple and use less sugar. Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

